I guess we should run over what it is first.
"EverQuest Legends™ (EQL) is a newly reimagined version of classic EverQuest from its original release in 1999. Featuring all the fun magic and nostalgia of the original game, EQL is also packed with tons of new features and quality of life enhancements."
As you would know if you clicked through the link. I'm not really adding much here, am I? That's because there's not much to add. The press release goes on to explain everything in some detail. I can't really do any better than to reproduce the full text. And then maybe I'll nitpick it after. That's kind of what I do here, after all.
Let's start with that name: EverQuest Legends. I wonder if anyone involved in the naming process even remembers their history? Once upon a time, in the deep, dark past, there was a server by the name of EverQuest Legends. It was the elite server, where you paid a higher subscription for full-time GM services and some other perks.
It's extremely difficult to find detailed information on the decades-defunct
Legends server today, a task very much not helped by the current frenzy of
discussion on the new project that stole shares its name, but
with the help of Calishat's invaluable
TimeCake app and some creative googling of my own, I eventually managed to track
down an interview about it with John "Smed" Smedley from GameSpot in
2002.
Then there was the much better-remembered and hugely easier to research Legends of Norrath, the virtual TCG spin-off that ran for just shy of a decade before closing down for good in 2017. With a legacy of two failed projects using the name, I'm not sure I'd have wanted to lumber the latest with the same burden but then, hey, it's not like the target market is going to be people who played EverQuest back in the day, right?
No, the target market is very clearly the people who used to play on The Hero's Journey emulator, until Daybreak took the operators to court and put them out of business. Plus, of course, the presumably orders of magnitude larger number of potential customers who might very well have played on THJ if they hadn't been too chicken to give their bank details to the people behind what was, at the most favorable interpretation, a gray-market operation. As the MassivelyOP news report suggests, the new Legends service certainly explains why that lawsuit had to happen.
In essence, EverQuest Legends is what a lot of people have been saying they wanted for almost as long as the game has existed: a solo version. Perhaps the most surprising thing about it is that it's taken so long although, with the current fad for ersatz mmorpgs like Erenshor, games that simulate the entire milieu, other players included, maybe the time has finally come.
Thinking of Erenshor does make me wonder why EverQuest Legends needs to be an MMORPG at all. If grouping is entirely optional and group size is limited to four, it seems like it would work equally well as a co-op game. It wouldn't even have to be online.
That might make it harder to collect a subscription, though. And EverQuest Legends is going to be a subscription game. I guess if the idea is to re-create the original experience to some degree, a monthly sub would be part of it.
The first thing I thought, when I saw a sub was required, was whether it would be included in the All Access deal. That's since been clarified and the answer is no.
It's a completely separate game, running on different servers, operated by a
different company, a third-party developer by the name of
Game Jawn. (Really, really bad name, by the way. It may fly in Philly but for everyone
else it just makes you think "Game Yawn" Not quite the image you'd want
to put into the mind of a potential customer.)
Game
Jawn (Seriously? It hurts just to type it out...) is the brainchild of several
people who used to code and run EQ emulators. Poachers turned gamekeepers, I
guess. Or maybe turned gatekeepers, now they have the official seal of
approval. I imagine starting new emulators with hefty rules modifications is
going to be a little bit riskier now.
These guys were in the
emulator business in the first place because they used to play EQ and didn't
like the way it was going, I guess. Now, it appears, they see merit in the
progressive relaxation of restrictions that's led to the much easier version
of the game that's on the live servers today. Only they're going even further,
setting things up so the game can be fully experienced the way lot of people
always wished it could - alone.
For once, there's not going to be a
long wait to see how it all turns out. Nor will there be a prolonged purgatory
of Early Access. EverQuest Legends is set to launch in July and you can send
in your application for
closed beta
right now.
I just did. I wasn't going to, at least not yet,
because I wanted to know if there was an NDA first. I hate being in testing
programs I can't talk about here on the blog. But then I clicked the button to
get the link for this post and it was literally two or three more clicks to
sign up, so what the hell...
That brings up the Really Big
Question, namely do I even want to play EverQuest Legends in the first
place? Not would I like to blog about it or would I like to check it out but
would I want to play it? As in every day, for weeks or months...
Hmm.
If this was ten or fifteen years ago then sure, I would. I would have loved a
fully soloable version of EverQuest back then. The timing would have been
perfect. Now, though? Unlike
Stargrace, I'm not so sure.
For one thing, this is going to be Classic
EverQuest, albeit with some massive tweaks. It's pre-Kunark, even if
you will be able to play an Iksar (Or a Kerran or a Froglok.) right from the
start. The thing is, I can already solo that era, on a regular
server.
Anyone can. You just need a mercenary. It's easy and
it's fun. I've done it several times. I'm not sure I want to do it again with
the twist being no mercenary but a souped-up, multi-classed character and a
difficulty slider instead. I mean, sure, yes, I'd want to play around with
that for a while but would I want to bed down and take it seriously?
I
kind of doubt it. I suspect that's more likely to appeal to all the hundreds
of thousands, maybe millions of people who haven't actually played EQ since it
got easy. And even if I did want to play it for more than a minute, would I
want to pay for it?
Maybe the promo trailer will help me
decide...
Yeah, that's not doing it for me. I'm not sure I want to play that game. It doesn't look great, compared to the other options, does it?
I guess we'll have to wait and see. And I, personally, might have to wait a bit longer, because summer really isn't a great time for gaming in my book. Not unless we get a really bad summer, anyway. I'd rather be outside than sitting indoors in front of a screen. January always seems like the best time to launch a game to me but that's an outlying opinion, based on the evidence.
If I was in the market for an old school, diku-MUD-inspired MMORPG around about then, it most likely wouldn't be a re-tread of an old one, anyway. It'd be more likely to be something like, oh, I don't know, Monsters & Memories, scheduled to go into Early Access in June.
Except, of course, they had problems of their own even before they learned about EQLegends, which must have come as a very unpleasant surprise. The two games would look to be tapping into the same pool of players but Legends clearly has the advantage of huge press coverage and a massive backwash of ex-EverQuest players, most of whom have probably never heard of M&M.
Then again, there's that group thing... Maybe that'll work in M&M's favor...
Remember how everyone always says the reason they keep playing their MMORPG of choice is the community? It's their guild, their friends, the people they've met along the way. That's been the received wisdom for decades. Monsters & Memories, like Pantheon and all the other retro-mmorpgs have been riding that horse into the ground for years. Where does this leave them?
If it really is all about the friends you make, why is everyone apparently so excited about being able to to play the game without any? Or, as several news sites, GameSpot among them, chose to phrase it "No Time Or Friends For An MMO? EverQuest Legends Has A Solution".
If nothing else, it's going to be an interesting test case. Is the gameplay of a classic MMORPG sufficient in itself to sustain long-term interest even without the social bonds that come from forced grouping? And if it is, will people want to pay a monthly fee for that, when so many very similar options exist without one?
Because, without the need for other people, what, really, is the difference between an MMORPG and any open world rpg or survival game?
Well, in EverQuest Legend's case it's immediate access to a pipeline of two and a half decades of proven, tested content, not to mention a semi-installed base running into millions and instant access to gaming news channels merely on mention of your name. More than twenty years after EQ could last claim to have been a big dog, all Daybreak needs to do is bark and the journos come running: PCGamer, Kotaku, IGN, GameSpot, Rock Paper Shotgun... all of them covered it yesterday, along with many more.
I hope it all pays off for Daybreak. I suspect it will. As Wilhelm pointed out the other day, the front-runner in their financials these days is Palia. It would be nice to see EverQuest back at the top.
Even if it is on someone else's servers.


























